Ground Chicken Tacos

Adapted from 365 Days of Slow Cooking

Mmm. Tacos. Honestly, tacos are probably one of my favorite foods. Rick’s, too.

When I told him I was making ground chicken tacos for dinner, he kind of gave me the side-eye.

“What? Don’t you think it sounds good?”

“No, no, it sounds good,” he said. “I just don’t know why you keep taking something so good and changing it.”

You see, he likes the traditional ground beef tacos. And if I had to choose only one, I’d say those are my favorite, too. But I like to try different types of tacos every now and then.

Pulled Pork Tacos
Pulled Pork Tacos #2
Chicken Tacos
Cafe Rio Chicken Tacos

And now these Ground Chicken Tacos. Yum yum. I’ve recently realized how good ground chicken is, so these really hit the spot. But, despite how much Rick and I both liked these, next time I put tacos on the menu, I guess we’ll have to go back to traditional ground beef. 🙂


Ground Chicken Tacos

1 pound ground chicken
1/2 medium onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp. chili powder
1 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. brown sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
8 oz. can tomato sauce

Directions:
Place the ground chicken in your crockpot, breaking up the meat as much as possible (it does not need to be browned first). Add the onion, garlic, and spices. Add the tomato sauce and stir gently to combine, but don’t over stir.

Cook on high for 2 hours or low for 4 hours. At end of cook time, drain the juices if desired. Serve with your favorite taco fixings, or on top of a bed of lettuce as a taco salad!

1 Comment »

  1. Kimberly Nolan said

    I am so trying these.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment