Cafe Rio Chicken

Source: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

I made this recipe alongside Zuppa Toscana for the third round of the Crockpot March Madness tournament, hosted by 365 Days of Slow Cooking.

I was really looking forward to trying this recipe, and it did not disappoint.  The flavor was really interesting and not like anything I’ve ever had before. As I prepared the recipe this morning, I was a little nervous about the chicken drying out because there wasn’t a ton of liquid. As it turned out, I was worrying for nothing! The chicken was moist and flavorful when I got home from work.

Prep time and value are huge positives for this recipe — there are only 5 ingredients! I will probably make this recipe again, but the next time we have chicken tacos I will probably go back to my old recipe.  However, it’s nice to have a another option for when I’m craving something different!

Cafe Rio Chicken
1 lb. chicken breasts
3 oz. Italian salad dressing
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1 garlic clove, minced

Directions:
Place chicken breasts in the bottom of your crockpot. Combine the salad dressing, cumin, chili powder, and garlic, and pour mixture on top of the chicken. Cook on low for 7-8 hours.

At end of cook time, shred chicken, and serve with your favorite taco toppings. Enjoy!

5 Comments »

  1. Nicole, RD said

    That taco looks aaaamazing!

  2. thanks for doing this!!! It’s been fun to “get to know you” better.

  3. […] made this recipe alongside Cafe Rio Chicken for the third round of the Crockpot March Madness tournament, hosted by 365 Days of Slow […]

  4. […] and Creamy Corn Chowder in Round 1 of the tournament. For Round 3, I pitted Zuppa Toscana again Cafe Rio Chicken. From participating in this contest, I discovered four fantastic dishes that I might not have […]

  5. […] Pulled Pork Tacos Pulled Pork Tacos #2 Chicken Tacos Cafe Rio Chicken Tacos […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

