Pulled pork tacos

I came across this recipe the other day and was immediately intrigued. Pulled pork with cocoa powder?? What? Well … I think I’m going to have to give these a shot! I love these pulled pork tacos, so I was excited to try this new recipe to see how they compare.

Rick and I both loved these … especially Rick! I didn’t tell him about the secret ingredient until after he tried them, because I was worried it would freak him out. However, he didn’t mind at all, and realized that the taste did remind him a little of Skyline chili (which uses chocolate).

So, after comparing the two pulled pork taco recipes, I would still prefer the original, but Rick says he likes these better! Try them both for yourself and see which one you like best!


Pulled pork tacos

2-2.5 lb. pork tenderloin
2 cups salsa
2 tbsp. chili powder
2 tbsp. oregano
2 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. kosher salt

Directions
Place the pork in your crockpot. Add the salsa, chili powder, oregano, cocoa powder and salt, stirring to combine. Turn the roast so it is coated in the salsa mixture. Cook on low for 8 hours. Add end of cook time, shred the pork and serve on soft tortilla shells with your favorite fixings!

Shared at Eat at Home Cooks

5 Comments »

  1. I have been meaning to make pulled pork tacos, your post has pushed it further up on my menu.

  2. I’m going to have to try these!!

    Linked over from MPM @ OrgJunkie!

  3. Tiffany said

    Ooh! I gotta try this!

  4. […] Mexican rice bowls with fried egg Sunday: Cheeseburgers w/pasta salad Monday:  Pulled pork tacos Tuesday: leftovers tacos Wednesday: Chicken taco burgers w/salad Thursday: Lemon crab linguine with […]

  5. […] Pork Tacos Pulled Pork Tacos #2 Chicken Tacos Cafe Rio Chicken […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

