Hungarian goulash

PA100920
I was browsing through my Fix It and Forget It Lightly cookbook the other day, and was intrigued by this recipe. Until the Mexican goulash I made awhile back, I had never had (or really heard of) goulash before, so I thought it might be fun to tryanother version of the dish. Also, Rick and I needed an easy dinner tonight (with ingredients we already had on hand), and this seemed like the perfect fit.

This turned out to be a really good dish. It had a lot more flavor than I was expecting, and I love the texture of the onions. It was a very filling meal, especially when served over a bed of rice!

PA100919
Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef, browned and drained
1 large onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup ketchup
2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp. brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. dry mustard
1 cup water
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup cold water

Directions:
Place beef in crockpot. Cover with onions.

Combine garlic, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, sugar, salt, paprika, mustard, and 1 cup water. Pour over beef.

Cook on low for 5-6 hours.

Dissolve flour in 1/4 cup cold water. Stir into beef mixture. Cook on high for 10-15 minutes, or until slightly thickened.

Serve over noodles or rice. Enjoy!

Makes about 6 servings.

Shared on Dining with Debbie

3 Comments »

  1. […] 11, 2009 at 10:33 pm · Filed under Menus ·Tagged Meal planning Sunday: Hungarian goulash Monday: Turkey wraps w/soup Tuesday: Gnocchi chicken skillet Wednesday: Sloppy joes w/oven fries […]

  2. brannyboilsover said

    My husband loved this and asked for it to be “in the rotation.” Thanks!

  3. […] is the third goulash I’ve made in the crockpot (after this Mexican goulash and this Hungarian goulash) and this one is probably my favorite (followed by the Hungarian goulash). The flavors actually […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment