Turkey goulash

This recipe from … and a cookie for dessert popped into my Google Reader at the exact time I needed it to. Rick and I just bought a house, so I am struggling to find time to meal plan or do more than a quick grocery trip. I needed something that I could make using ingredients that I had on hand, and this fit the bill.

This is the third goulash I’ve made in the crockpot (after this Mexican goulash and this Hungarian goulash) and this one is probably my favorite (followed by the Hungarian goulash). The flavors actually reminded me a lot of Pasta Fagioli, although this dish isn’t nearly as soup-y. I’m definitely going to keep this in mind for weeks when I don’t have time to go to the grocery!


Turkey goulash

1 tsp. olive oil
1 lb. ground turkey
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups water
1 can diced tomatoes
15 oz. can tomato sauce (I used Ragu)
3/4 tsp. dried basil
3/4 tsp. dried oregano
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 bay leaf
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
2 cups elbow macaroni or small shells

Directions:
Heat olive oil in medium pan over medium heat. Saute turkey, onion and garlic until turkey is cooked through. Add mixture to crockpot. Add the water, tomatoes, tomato sauce, basil, oregano, bay leaf, soy sauce, salt and pepper, and stir to combine. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. At end of cook time, add the macaroni. Cover and cook on low for about 30 minutes until macaroni is tender.

2 Comments »

  1. Kate said

    Thanks! I made this tonight and it was perfect for the stormy weather MI has been getting.

  2. darnold23 said

    I’m looking forward to seeing you back at Crock Pot Wednesday this week. Thanks for linking up last week and entering the giveaway.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

