Mexican goulash

P8060418

I was searching online for a new Mexican dish to try, and I found this one. It sounded very interesting to me, but I’m not sure if it would be interesting good or interesting bad. I have never had any sort of goulash before, so I had no idea what to expect.

It turned out pretty well, though. The chili flavoring was dominant, but not in a bad way. And the shells tasted so good! Overall, I’m not sure if I will make it again or not, but I’m really glad I tried it.

P8050417
Ingredients:

1 can chili
1 can fat free refried beans
1 can corn, drained
1 1/2 cups salsa
5 10-inch flour tortillas
shredded cheese (optional)
sour cream (optional)

Directions:

You will need a crockpot large enough for the tortilla shells to lay flat in — I used my 6 qt. Spray crockpot stoneware with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine chili, beans, salsa and corn. Stir until well-combined.

Lay one tortilla shell at bottom of crockpot. Top with one-fifth of the chili mixture. I also sprinkled a pinch of shredded cheese on top of the mixture. Top with another tortilla shell, add mixture and a sprinkle of cheese. Continue until you use up all 5 tortilla shells and the entire chili mixture.

Cook on low for 7 hours. I cooked mine on low for 8 hours and one edge (the side that was pushed up against the side of the stoneware) got burnt and we had to throw it out.

With a knife, cut a checkerboard pattern into the tortilla shells and stir to combine. The tortillas will taste a bit like pasta.

Serve with more shredded cheese and sour cream.

Shared at Eat at Home Cooks Ingredient Spotlight: Tortillas.

4 Comments »

  1. MMM looks delicious! I love mexican food!

  2. […] my Fix It and Forget It Lightly cookbook the other day, and was intrigued by this recipe. Until the Mexican goulash I made awhile back, I had never had (or really heard of) goulash before, so I thought it might be […]

  3. […] is the third goulash I’ve made in the crockpot (after this Mexican goulash and this Hungarian goulash) and this one is probably my favorite (followed by the Hungarian […]

  4. […] Chicken Pizza Burgers (held over from last week)Tuesday: Mexican GoulashWednesday: Taco Mac and CheeseThursday: Stuffed ShellsFriday: Pizza […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

