Swiss Casserole Chicken

p10103321

My husband and I both love this dish. When I made it today, he said it’s his favorite dish of mine! It’s so simple and so good!

Update: Nov. 22, 2011
Almost three years later, Swiss Casserole Chicken still ranks high on our list of favorite recipes. However, as my tastes have evolved, I’m noticing my body growing more and more sensitive to salty foods. This dish became almost too salty for me! (I’m sure the can of cream of mushroom soup didn’t help with that.) So yesterday, when I made this dish again, I made two changes that I think are key. I replaced the can of cream of mushroom soup with 1 1/2 cups of homemade cream of chicken soup, and I replaced the stick of butter with 1 cup of homemade chicken broth. The dish turned out great, and was much less salty. I’ll make it this way from now on!

p1010329

Ingredients:

6 chicken breast halves (about 1.25 pounds or more)
4 slices Swiss cheese
1 10¾-oz can cream of mushroom soup (or 1 1/2 cups homemade cream of chicken soup)
¼ c. milk
2 c. stuffing mix
½ c. butter, melted (or 1 cup chicken broth)

Directions:

  • Lay chicken breasts in slow cooker. Top with cheese. Combine soup and milk and spoon over cheese. Sprinkle stuffing mix on top. Drizzle melted butter over stuffing mix.
  • Cook on low 8-10 hours or high 3-4 hours. I cooked it on high for 3 hours this morning and it was perfect.
Shared at Eat at Home Cooks Ingredient Spotlight: Milk.

18 Comments »

  1. tbonegrl said

    I plan to try this for sure! Welcome to blogging!

  2. Stephanie said

    Yum- my mom used to make this in the oven all the time growing up. We called it “Chicken with stuffing on top” (creative huh?) To this day it’s my favorite meal!

  3. […] Skyline 3 ways Tuesday: Reuben w/potato chips Wednesday: Leftover reubens Thursday: Swiss Casserole Chicken Friday: Taco Bake […]

  4. […] 1, 2009 at 11:03 am · Filed under Uncategorized Monday: Swiss casserole chicken Tuesday: Bacon and tomato pasta Wednesday: Pizza potatoes Thursday: TBD … I’m on to […]

  5. monique said

    i got this in my crockpot now. thanks for the idea. this looks delish!!

  6. jen said

    Thanks…you just solved my dinner dilemma for tonight!

  7. Jen said

    Follow-up….tried this dish tonight and it was a HUGE success with both myself and my husband! I can see this becoming a staple in our meal rotation. Thanks again!

  8. Yum! Just found your blog and want to make this! Two quick questions – how many servings is this? Do you use a pound of chicken? Thank you SO much – can’t wait to try it!

    • crockpottuesdays said

      Yay, I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for checking out my blog. 🙂

      Depending on how hungry you are (and if you serve any sides) this makes about 4-6 adult-sized servings. I usually try to use 3 medium-sized chicken breasts (and cut them in half), and that usually equals about a pound, but maybe a little more.

      Hope that helps!

  9. […] pm · Filed under Menus ·Tagged Meal planning Sunday: Spinach stuffed shells Monday: Swiss casserole chicken Tuesday:  Tater tot casserole Wednesday: Zesty chicken bbq sandwiches and baked potato Thursday:  […]

  10. Thanks – that helps SO much!!

  11. […] 12, 2010 at 10:06 am · Filed under Menus Monday: Johnny Marzetti Tuesday: Swiss Casserole Chicken Wednesday: Creamy Taco Mac Thursday: Taco Dip Friday: […]

  12. […] French Dip 2. Swiss Casserole Chicken 3. Cincinnati Skyline Chili 4. Making dried beans in the crockpot 5. Pulled pork tacos […]

  13. […] Greek pizza Sunday: Out for dinner Monday: Zesty Penne with Sausage and Peppers Tuesday: Swiss Casserole Chicken Wednesday: Out Thursday: Creamy Taco Mac Friday: Creamy orzo with herb rubbed […]

  14. Tiffany said

    Love a good slow cooker recipe 🙂

  15. […] hot dogs; D: out Sunday: L: leftovers; D: Chicken pot pie Monday: Chicken broccoli supreme Tuesday: Swiss casserole chicken Wednesday: […]

  16. […] Sunday: Swiss Casserole Chicken Monday: Meatball subs with salad Tuesday: Crockpot beef stroganoff Wednesday: Southwestern Spaghetti Pie Thursday: Pizza Night Friday: my BFF’s graduation party […]

  17. lisa said

    We loved this! Will definately make this again…..3 or 4 hrs on high did the trick..served over mashed potatoes..yum

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment