Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup

Source: Finding Joy in My Kitchen, who adapted from An Oregon Cottage

I made this recipe almost on accident. I was going through my Google Reader when I noticed that I had all of these ingredients on hand, including half a pound of sausage left over from another recipe earlier in the week. Rather than let anything go to waste, I decided to bump this onto our menu plan.

Oh. My. Goodness. I am so glad I did. This soup was so. good. Way better than I would have ever dreamed it would be. It really seemed to get better the more I ate of it, too. It was so flavorful and so delicious and (even better) chock full of veggies. I can’t wait to make it again!

My only complaint was that while this soup filled me up, it didn’t hold me over for a super long time. For example, I ate leftovers one day for lunch at around 11:30. My the time I left work at 4:30, my stomach was starting to growl.  But, that’s a small price to pay. Next time, I’ll just bring an extra afternoon snack!

Italian Sausage Vegetable Soup
1/2 lb. Italian sausage
4 cup low-sodium beef broth
1 can diced tomatoes
2 tbsp. minced onion
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup frozen mixed vegetables
4 oz. fresh mushrooms (or more, but 4 oz. was all I had left)
1 large handful baby carrots
1 tsp. Italian seasoning
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 cup macaroni, uncooked

Directions:
Cook the sausage in a medium pan. Once completely brown, add to your crockpot. Pour in the beef broth, then add the garlic, onion, mushrooms, frozen veggies, carrots, and tomatoes, including their juice. Add the Italian seasoning and stir to mix. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

About 45 minutes before serving, turn the crockpot to high and add the pasta. Once the pasta is cooked, serve and enjoy!

Shared at Lynn’s Kitchen Adventure’s Souper Monday.

1 Comment »

  1. Lynn said

    This looks really good and healthy! Thanks for linking up today.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

