Zuppa Toscana

Source: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

I made this recipe alongside Cafe Rio Chicken for the third round of the Crockpot March Madness tournament, hosted by 365 Days of Slow Cooking.

I was really looking forward to this soup — I’ve had it starred in my Google Reader for a long time! This soup was delicious, and I’m not exaggerating when I say that it got better with each bite. The only real negative to this recipe is that it does not use staples that I normally have in my pantry. However, the flavor of this soup is well worth it, and I’ll definitely make it again.


Zuppa Toscana

1 lb. Italian sausage
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
1/2 cup onion, chopped
3 large russet potatoes, cubed
1 garlic clove, minced
1 cup whipping cream
kale
bacon bits

Directions:
In a medium skillet, crumble and brown sausage. Drain well, and add to your crockpot. Add the broth, water, onion, potatoes, and garlic, stirring to combine. Cook on high for 3-4 hours.

At end of cook time, stir in whipping cream and as many bacon bits as you want. Chop desired amount of kale and stir to combine. Serve with crusty French bread and enjoy!

9 Comments »

  1. Nicole, RD said

    That sounds so good! My hubby loves Zuppa Toscana…I’ll have to make this before the weather is too warm for soup!

  2. Mrs. Jen B said

    Now where was this recipe a month ago when the temps were colder?? I could have used it for sure! 😉 Looks awesome, I love that soup.

    Stopping by from FF! 🙂

  3. […] Zuppa Toscana […]

  4. […] Rollups, fruit; D: Cheesy Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Monday: Tomatillo Chicken Tacos Tuesday: Zuppa Toscana Wednesday: Creamy Baked Spaghetti with salad Thursday: Baked Potato Soup Friday: Pizza night Like […]

  5. […] Chicken Cordon Bleu and Creamy Corn Chowder in Round 1 of the tournament. For Round 3, I pitted Zuppa Toscana again Cafe Rio Chicken. From participating in this contest, I discovered four fantastic dishes that […]

  6. […] L: leftovers; D: Zuppa Toscana Monday: Cheddar Chicken and Rice Soup Tuesday: TBD Wednesday: Spinach and Artichoke Baked Pasta  […]

  7. […] feel bad. So that’s why I put this on the menu during the same week I had planned on having Zuppa Toscana. I bought an 8-pound bag of potatoes for $3, and between both dishes, it used up about half of the […]

  8. […] This culinary inspiration came from Crockpot Tuesdays […]

  9. anita said

    This sounds amazing, but since I dont like just plain boiled potatoes, I will substitute gnocchi. Yumm

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment