Italian Herb Chicken and Potatoes

For a meal earlier in the week, I had bought a 5 lb. bag of red potatoes and a big bag of baby carrots. I don’t usually have a problem using up the baby carrots, but the potatoes are another story. No matter what, I always seem to waste potatoes, and I hate that. So this time around, I was determined not to do that. When I realized how many potatoes we had left, I quickly threw this on the meal plan.

Now, let me preface this by saying I am NOT a meat and potatoes type of girl. That might imply that I’m a health-food type of girl instead, but that’s not really the case, either. In reality, I think it’s safe to say that I’m a pasta/casserole type of girl.

So with that in mind, it was a huge shock to both me and Rick when I really, really liked this recipe! I was fully expecting it to be dry and bland, but that was not the case at all. The potatoes, when tossed with the olive oil and herbs, were delicious and very flavorful. The chicken (also very flavorful) was very moist. I think the key here is to use chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts, which I think I’ll continue to have on hand for this type of dish.

I’m pretty proud of myself for branching out and trying a “meat and potatoes” dish—and liking it!

Italian Herb Chicken and Potatoes
Adapted from Eat at Home Cooks

1.5 lb. chicken thighs
1.5 lb. red potatoes, quartered
baby carrots (as many as you want)
1 clove garlic
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. basil
1/2 tsp. thyme
1/2 tsp. Kosher salt
black pepper to taste
1-2 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:
Place chicken in your crockpot. Top with baby carrots.

In a medium bowl, combine the garlic, herbs, salt, pepper, and oil. Toss with potatoes and add to your crockpot.

Cook on low for 7 hours. Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Burgers on the grill Tuesday: Zucchini Pizza Casserole Wednesday: Italian Herb Chicken and Potatoes Thursday: Southwestern Quichiladas Friday: Pizza […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

