Garlic Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes

Source: 365 Days of Slow Cooking

I have been craving cauliflower. I think it all started when I just kept hearing so much about cauliflower mashed potatoes. I just couldn’t imagine what this might taste like, but I knew I wanted to try it. My craving kept building up and building up until one day when I saw some cauliflower on sale at the grocery. I knew that it was finally time.

You can tell I’ve been wanting to try different cauliflower recipes when you look at my Google Reader. Here are just a few of the recipes I’ve been saving recently:

Cauliflower Pie with Grated Sweet Potato Crust
Creamy Roasted Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup
Baked Pasta with Cauliflower and Cheese 

This recipe was really good. When Rick and I  took our first bites, we were amazed! I wouldn’t say it tastes exactly like mashed potatoes, but the texture is similar so I can see this being an easy and healthy substitute. My only complaint about this dish is that it seemed to lose its heat quickly after we dished it up onto our plates … but I’d say that’s just an excuse to eat it faster! haha


Garlic Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes

1 head of cauliflower
3 cups water
4 large garlic cloves, peeled
1 tsp salt
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp. butter
Milk (if needed)
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:
Cut the cauliflower into florets and place in your crockpot. Add in the water, garlic cloves, salt, and bay leaf. Cook on high for 2-3 hours or  low for 4-6 hours.
At end of cook time, remove the garlic cloves and bay leaf.  Drain the water. Add in the butter and let it melt. Use a potato masher, an immersion blender, or just a spoon to mash the cauliflower.  If it needs milk, add it in a tablespoon at a time (I didn’t use any). Salt and pepper to taste. Serve with green onions if you have any (I wish I had!).
Leave a Reply

