Salsa Chicken Take 2

This new recipe for salsa chicken took a roundabout way of getting here. It all started when I came across this recipe for Salsa Chicken Pasta and decided it sounded really, really good. The only problem was, I didn’t have any leftover salsa chicken on hand. I decided to make some salsa chicken early in the week to use as a taco filling, then use the leftovers for the Salsa Chicken Pasta.

I immediately went to my go-to recipe for Salsa Chicken, but decided I wanted something different this time around. Stephanie Cooks recommended this recipe, so I decided to give it a shot.

This recipe was so good! It was much lighter than my original Salsa Chicken recipe, as it wasn’t weighed down by the heaviness (both in taste and in calories) of the cream of mushroom soup and sour cream. I really enjoy both of these salsa chicken recipes, so I can see myself going back and forth between the two depending on what I’m in the mood for at the time.


Salsa Chicken

1.5 lb. chicken breasts
8 oz. tomato sauce
1 cup salsa
1/4 cup taco seasoning (or 1 packet)
1 tsp. cumin

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in your crockpot, stirring to combine. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. At end of cook time, shred with two forks. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

