Chicken Taco Bowls

Source: Budget Bytes

I made this recipe as part of my online cooking club. I love almost any Mexican recipe, so I was really excited to try this one.

It wasn’t until we were eating dinner that I realized this tasted very similar to something that I had made before: Santa Fe Chicken. After investigating this recipe that I had blogged in July of last year, I saw that the ingredients are, in fact, pretty similar. However, I prefer this Chicken Taco Bowls recipe because the ingredients are even simpler and cheaper. Why use two cups of chicken broth when you don’t have to? This will definitely be one of my go-to recipes when I need to come up with a meal with pantry staples.

Chicken Taco Bowls
1.5 lb. chicken breasts
16 oz. salsa
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
8 oz. frozen corn
1 tbsp. chili powder
1/2 tbsp. cumin
1/2 tbsp. minced garlic
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
black pepper to taste

Directions:
Place the chicken breasts in your crockpot. Then, dump in the rest of the ingredients and stir to combine. (Add about 1/4 cup water if your mixture seems too thick.) Cook on low for 8 hours. At end of cook time, shred chicken and stir back into the mixture. Serve over rice. Top with cheese and cilantro, if desired.

1 Comment »

  1. We love this recipe 🙂 We have made it like 3 times since we had it for cooking club the first time!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

