Chicken Taco Soup

Source: Allrecipes.com

I made this recipe because it was chosen for a cooking club that I’m a part of. I was really excited to try this, and honestly, I can’t believe I hadn’t made anything like it before. I’ve made two Taco Soup recipes in the past, but both of them involved beef and not chicken. I was definitely looking forward to trying this one.

You may notice one unique ingredient: the beer. I was a little worried about this, especially after adding it to the rest of the ingredients in the crockpot. I’ll just say that it was a very interesting combination of smells. But as it turns out, there was nothing to worry about. The soup was really, really good. It had the perfect amount of spice from the Rotel, and the beer gave it a little bit of a bitter taste. Next time, I might replace the beer with a cup and a half of chicken broth to see which version I like better.


Chicken taco soup

1 medium onion, chopped
1 can chili beans
1 can black beans
1.5 cups frozen corn
8 oz. can tomato sauce
12 oz. can or bottle of beer
2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chiles, undrained
1 package taco seasoning
3 chicken breasts (I used 1.2 pounds)

Directions:
Place onion, chili beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce, beer, and tomatoes in your crockpot. Add taco seasoning, and stir to combine. Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients. Cook on low for 8 hours.

At end of cook time, shred the chicken breasts. Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup until well combined. Serve topped with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips, if desired.

Leave a Reply

