Curried Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup

Every now and then I’ll come across a recipe that just intrigues me. For whatever reason, I can’t get it out of my head. I think about it and think about it until I can finally put it on the menu.

This very same thing happened to me when I saw the recipe for Curried Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup on Kitchen Stewardship. I was hesitant and curious about this recipe at the same time. It looked good. It sounded good. But would it taste good? I had never had anything like this before, so I really couldn’t imagine how it would taste. Plus, the curry was an up-in-the-air ingredient. Sometimes I like it, but if it’s overpowering, I really don’t. There was no way of guessing how this would turn out.

All I can say, though, is WOW! This soup was so good. Much better than I could have ever imagined. And look how healthy it is! The only unhealthy ingredient is the half-and-half, and with the amount of soup this makes, there ends up being very little half-and-half per serving. It’s so pretty, too! (Plus, as a bonus, this gave me an opportunity to use my new immersion blender. Unfortunately, I have not yet figured out how to use the immersion blender without splattering all over myself.)

Curried Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
2 cups baby carrots (almost 1 pound)
1 small onion, chopped
¾ teaspoon curry powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
½ teaspoon cinnamon (next time, I’ll use a little less at Rick’s request)
¼ teaspoon ginger
4 cups chicken broth
1 tablespoon maple syrup
¾ cup cream (I used fat free half-and-half)

Directions:
Place potatoes, carrots, onion, curry powder, salt, pepper, cinnamon, and ginger in your crock pot. Add chicken broth and stir. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Puree soup in a blender a few cups at a time or use an immersion blender. Stir in maple syrup and cream. Enjoy!

This makes about 6+ servings.

Shared at Lynn’s Kitchen Adventure’s Souper Monday.

3 Comments »

  1. Kate said

    That sounds so simple and fantastic. Thanks!

  2. Lynn said

    I love sweet potato soup. And curry and maple syrup are a great addition to it.

  3. […] Sandwiches with leftover mac and cheeseWednesday: Zesty Penne with Sausage and PeppersThursday: Curried Carrot and Sweet Potato SoupFriday: Pizza […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

