Tomatillo Chicken Tacos

This is the second recipe I made as part of this year’s March Madness Tournament, hosted by 365 Days of Slow Cooking. Unlike the Tomatillo Cream Cheese Enchiladas, I was really looking forward to this recipe. Let’s face it—I like tacos. Pretty much any kind, actually. I had never cooked with tomatillos before (and rarely cooked with any other pepper besides bell peppers), so I was excited to try something new.

Honestly, though, this recipe really disappointed me. I was worried that the chicken would end up being too spicy, or maybe I just wouldn’t like the flavors of the peppers because I had never really had them before. That wasn’t the case at all—in fact, it was actually pretty bland. We were planning on having leftovers for dinner later in the week, but I’m going to plan to use them in another dish instead, because I really have no desire to eat these tacos again.

But! Karen from 365 Days of Slow Cooking gave this recipe 5 stars, so it’s definitely not a bad recipe. Everyone has different tastes, of course. Maybe I’m just finding out that I don’t really like tomatillos. If you read through the list of ingredients and think that this is something you would like, I encourage you to give it a try.

So, which recipe won this round? If you had asked me what my prediction was before I made either recipe, I would have told you these tacos, hands down. However, I was proven wrong. The winner is the Tomatillo Cream Cheese Enchiladas!

Tomatillo Chicken Tacos
1 lb. chicken breast
3 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
8-10 medium tomatillos, husks removed and rinsed well and halved
1 red onion, diced
1 jalapeno chile, halved lengthwise, stemmed and seeded and chopped coarsely
1 poblano chile, stemmed and seeded and chopped coarsely
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. cumin
2 tsp lime juice

Directions:
Place chicken in your crockpot. Add the onion, chiles, garlic, oregano, and cumin, stirring to combine. Add in the tomatillos. Cook on low for 6–8 hours.

At end of cook time, remove chicken and shred. Strain the liquid from the slow cooker into a bowl. Puree the strained solids in a blender (or use an immersion blender). Add puree and the chicken back into your crockpot and stir well. Add more cumin, salt, and pepper to taste, as well as 2 tsp. lime juice. If needed, add in some of the strained liquid.

Serve wrapped up in tortillas with sour cream, cilantro, lettuce, cheese, tomatoes and other toppings of your choice. Or as an alternative, serve atop a nice salad.

Leave a Reply

