Jambalaya

Ahh, Pinterest. What a wonderful and fabulous way to waste time. But, really, it’s not all bad. Because of Pinterest, I discovered a new cooking blog that I’ve grown to love: Plain Chicken. I don’t remember the first recipe I’ve saved from this blog, but there have been a lot. One of them was this Crockpot Jambalaya.

For this recipe, I used Johnsonville Pork and Chicken Brats. I think one mistake I made with this recipe was simply adding the brats to the crockpot and letting them cook there. Next time, I’ll cook the brats separately (or at least brown them first, and then add them to the crockpot) so that the brats maintain some of their original flavor.

Now, I must warn you, it tastes better than it looks (I just could not seem to get a good picture of this dish!). This dish was very filling, very flavorful, and had just the right amount of spiciness. This would be great to serve for a large crowd. I can’t wait to make it again with the changes I noted above.


Jambalaya

1 pound chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 pound smoked turkey sausage, sliced
2 cans diced tomatoes, undrained
3 Tbsp dried minced onion flakes
1 cup chicken broth
2 teaspoons dried oregano
2 teaspoons dried parsley
2 tsp minced garlic
2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
rice (I used 2 packs of Knorr Garlic & Butter flavor rice)

Directions:
Mix the chicken, sausage, tomatoes, onion, garlic, and broth in your crockpot. Season with oregano, parsley, Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and thyme. Stir well.

Cook 7 to 8 hours on low, or 3 to 4 hours on high. Mix in cooked rice and cook for about 15 minutes until warm. Serve with cornbread muffins and enjoy!

Makes about 7-8 servings.

1 Comment »

  1. […] do try to make yummy food at home, sometimes.  Last week, I made this: https://crockpottuesdays.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/jambalaya/  It was yummy, and super easy-I used Trader Joe’s Chicken Andouille Sausage and […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

