Beef Stew

Mmm. There’s nothing better than a good hearty soup or stew when the weather gets cold. It’s the one thing that (almost) makes me look forward to winter!

Shirley J recently approached me about reviewing one of their products, and I jumped at the chance. As you can probably guess, I’m always looking for new crockpot recipes, so I was excited to possibly add something new to my repertoire.

I reviewed the Shirley J Dutch Oven & Slow Cooker Beef Seasoning. According to their website, when mixed with water, this seasoning produces a gravy that will season and moisten meat as it cooks.

My review: When I first read the recipe for this Chunky Beef Stew, I was shocked at the amount of beef seasoning it called for: 1/3 cup. This seemed like a bit much to me, but I made the recipe as is.

At the end of the cook time, the stew smelled fantastic. I was so excited to dig in! However, after taking my first bite, the dominant flavor was salt. The seasoning made this stew very, very salty, and at first, I thought it would be too much for me. I do feel like I am more sensitive to salt than some people, and Rick didn’t seem overly bothered by it, but for me, it was way too salty.

Other than the salt, the beef stew had a really good flavor. The gravy wasn’t too thick, so it was perfect for a beef stew.

I plan on playing around with this seasoning a bit more (but in smaller quantities), so look for those recipes in the future!

Chunky Beef Stew
1/3 cup Shirley J Dutch Oven & Slow Cooker Beef Seasoning
2 cups water
1.25 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
1 bay leaf
8 oz. can tomato sauce
1 tsp. worcestershire sauce
1 onion, chopped
3 potatoes, peeled and diced
4 carrots, chopped (I used a big handful of baby carrots)
2 ribs of celery, chopped

Directions:
Chop all vegetables into hearty chunks. Mix water and beef seasoning and add to your crockpot, along with the remaining ingredients. Cook on low for 10-12 hours or on high for 4-6. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

