Pork Barbacoa

The first time I had Chipotle was in 2003. We were in college, and Rick and I had just begun dating. They were passing out coupons on campus for buy one get one free burrito, so we eagerly headed across the street to get some cheap food. I don’t remember much about what exactly I ordered on my burrito, but I remember not liking it. Really not liking it. So much so that I had horrible nightmares that night about having to eat it again. The nightmares kept me up all night. It was all I could think about.

It was awful.

Flash forward to July 2011 — 8 whole years later, and I had not had Chipotle again since that first time. The fear of having nightmares kept me away, until finally, Rick convinced me to try it again.

Thinking back on it, I have a feeling it was whatever salsa I got that gave me such horrible memories. This time around, I skipped the salsa and got tomatoes instead, hoping that they would do the trick.

I was bound and determined to take that first bite with an open mind. Hmm … this might not be so bad after all. I finished 3/4ths of the burrito, and decided that while it’s still not my favorite, I wouldn’t be opposed to having it again sometime if Rick wanted it. He promised not to make me go too often.

However, Chipotle continued to hang around in the back of my mind. A couple weeks later, Rick and I were trying to decide where to grab some lunch.

“Well, if you wanted to go to Chipotle, I wouldn’t mind … ,” I said.

And thus began my obsession.

We did go to Chipotle that day, and it was just as good as the first time. After ordering a barbacoa burrito, something clicked in the back of my mind … I think I’ve seen a recipe for barbacoa before! Maybe I could make a knock-off version of these fabulous burritos at home!

And that’s just what I did. While these burritos are no substitute for the original, they taste great and are super fun to make. Plus, they come without the guilt of going out to eat all the time … a win-win!

Pork Barbacoa
Adapted from Kelly Be Well

2.5 lb. pork roast
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, diced
1 1/2 tsp. cumin
1/4 cup brown sugar
6 oz. taco sauce
10 oz. Coke

Directions:
Place roast in the bottom of your crockpot with the garlic and onions. Pour enough water alongside the roast so it is half-way covering it. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Remove roast from crockpot and shred the meat with two forks. Drain the water and add shredded pork back into the crockpot, along with the remaining ingredients. Cook on low for 4-6 more hours.

We ate this as a burrito filling with cilantro lime rice, black beans, lettuce, tomato, sour cream, and cheese.

Enjoy!

3 Comments »

  1. Lindsey said

    My husband and I were JUST in Chipotle last night and as I was deciding which meat to get, I told him I bet I could make barbacoa in the crockpot. Of course he was all for it. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  3. […] Italian sausage stromboli Monday: Chicken and wild rice soup Tuesday: Pork Barbacoa burritos Wednesday: Creamy Orzo Pasta Thursday: Leftover burritos Friday: Baba Ganoush and Baked […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

