Santa Fe Chicken

Source: Iowa Girl Eats

Last night (Wednesday), we were supposed to go out to dinner with a friend, but those plans fell through. I had all the ingredients we needed for Thursday night’s dinner ready, so we had that meal on Wednesday night. But what should I make on Thursday? I browsed through my saved recipes for something that fit all of the following criteria:

  1. All ingredients I had on hand, because I did not want to have to go to the grocery.
  2. Something not too heavy (considering it’s nearly 100 degrees here today).
  3. Something quick, because I won’t get home from the gym until 6 p.m.
  4. Something that doesn’t use the oven (considering it’s nearly 100 degrees here today).
  5. Something that sounded good!

I came across this recipe fairly quickly, which I am quite pleased with. I quickly defrosted the chicken, chicken broth, and the black beans I had in the freezer, and it was all ready to go in the crockpot in the morning.

This dish was so yummy and so flavorful! I love how versatile it is, in that you can serve it over rice or in taco shells. It makes a lot of leftovers, and I’m definitely looking forward to having it again.

Santa Fe Chicken
2 cups chicken broth
1 can diced tomatoes w/green chiles
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup frozen corn
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. dried cilantro
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion powder
3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
salt, to taste
1 lb. chicken breasts

Directions:
Combine all ingredients except the chicken in the bottom of your crockpot. Stir to combine. Sprinkle chicken breasts with salt and a little garlic powder, and lay them gently on top of the mixture in your crockpot. Cook on low for 8 hours.

Remove chicken from crockpot and shred. Return the chicken to the crockpot and mix in well.

Serve over cooked rice or in tortillas. Top with sour cream and cheese if desired.

Looking for more chicken recipes? Check out the Ingredient Spotlight at Eat at Home Cooks.

3 Comments »

  1. Glad you enjoyed the meal! I need to get my crock pot out sometime soon – I always forget that it’s a great way to cook in the summer because it doesn’t heat up the whole house!

  2. Ashley DeMazza said

    Hi my name is Ashley DeMazza. I live with the rest of the DeMazza family here in rural Falls Village, CT. Your recipe sounds wonderful! I have been needing to spice up some of our dinners. This sounds delicious!

  3. […] we were eating dinner that I realized this tasted very similar to something that I had made before: Santa Fe Chicken. After investigating this recipe that I had blogged in July of last year, I saw that the […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

