Chicken Pot Pie

Source: Lauren’s Kitchen

I had this recipe saved in my Google Reader for a looong time before I finally got around to making it. Oh, I’m so mad at myself for waiting so long! This was so good, so easy, and so comforting. Rather than a traditional pot pie, this dish reminded me more of a chicken soup — specificially the creamy chicken noodle soup I’ve made in the past.

I love how this recipe is full of veggies. I’ve been trying to incorporate more fruits and vegetables in my diet, so I’ve been on the lookout for recipes like this one. I’ll definitely be making this again.


Chicken Pot Pie
1 1/4 lb. chicken breasts
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 bay leaf
1/4 tsp. black pepper
18-24 oz. gravy (I used two 10.5 oz. cans)
2 stalks celery, diced into bite-sized pieces

16 oz. package frozen mixed vegetables
1 can biscuits

Directions: I used a 3.5 qt. crockpot. Place chicken breasts in the bottom of your crockpot. Top with onions, bay leaf, and gravy. Place celery on top of the gravy. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

About 30 minutes before serving, bake biscuits. Stir frozen veggies into your crockpot. Cover and cook on low for 15 minutes.

Remove bay leaf and shred chicken. For each serving, split the biscuit and place one half on the bottom of a bowl. Spoon chicken pot pie mixture into the bowl and top with the other half of the biscuit.

Enjoy!

Shared at Eat at Home Cooks

2 Comments »

  1. […] Chicken Pot Pie […]

  2. […] Cheesy Veggie Soup Sunday: African Pulled Beef Sandwiches Monday: Chicken Pot Pie with Sour Cream Biscuits Tuesday: leftovers Wednesday: Chicken Fiesta Soup Thursday: Salsa Chicken […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

