Curried chickpeas and chicken

Source: $5 Dinners

Every now and then, I come across a recipe that is really different from what I normally make, but for whatever reason, it catches my eye and I can’t stop thinking about it! I know it’s going to be a gamble, because what if we don’t like it? But eventually, I always give in and make the dish, simply because I can’t get it out of my head.

This recipe recently popped up in my Google Reader, and it became one of those recipes. I’ve only ever had chickpeas in one other recipe, and I didn’t really like it. But on the other hand, I really love hummus, so … I wanted to try it! Couldn’t hurt, right? And besides, I recently bought some curry powder, so I needed to use that for something, too. Perfect!

This dish turned out to be really good, and very filling! While I won’t say it’s one of my favorite dishes, it’s a great alternative when I’m looking for something different from the norm.

Curried Chickpeas and Chicken
1 lb. dried chickpeas
2 cups chicken broth (next time, I’ll use 3)
8 oz. can tomato sauce (next time, I’ll use 2 cans)
1 tbsp. curry powder
2 chicken breasts, diced
Garlic salt
Pepper

Directions:
Place the dried chickpeas in your stoneware and soak overnight. Drain and rinse, then place them back in your crockpot. Add the broth, tomato sauce, and curry powder, and stir. Then add the chicken and stir to combine. Season with a few dashes of garlic salt and pepper. Cook on high for 4 hours.

Serve over white or brown rice, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

