Island BBQ Chicken


Source: Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

I was starting to get tired of BBQ pulled pork sandwiches, so I started looking for a new BBQ chicken recipe. I had made this Zesty Chicken BBQ a few times, and while it was really, really good, I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I found this recipe and thought it sounded unique and interesting. The original recipe called for a “fruity BBQ sauce,” such as mango or pineapple, but I couldn’t find any, so I improvised by adding a can of pineapples to the mix!

This had a great flavor, and was very different from anything I had had before. Overall, I think I like the Zesty Chicken BBQ better, but this is perfect when you want something slightly different!


Island BBQ Chicken

2 lbs. chicken breasts(about 3 large breasts)
1 8 oz. can pineapple slices, undrained
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 medium onion, sliced
1/4 cup raisins
1 bottle honey bbq sauce

Directions:
Place chicken breasts into crockpot and sprinkle with salt and pepper, to taste. Add onions, pineapple and raisins. Cover with about 3/4 of the bottle of BBQ sauce and stir to combine. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. At end of cook time, shred chicken using two forks. Add the rest of the BBQ sauce and stir to combine. Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. […] have made shredded BBQ chicken in the crockpot using two other recipes (Island BBQ Chicken and Zesty Chicken BBQ) and this recipe at least ties for first place. (Honestly, it’s been so […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

