Roast Chicken

Source: Recipezaar.com

I’ve been wanting to try cooking a whole chicken in the crockpot for awhile now. When I first came across a recipe awhile back, it sounded pretty intimidating, so I kind of brushed it aside. But then, Thanksgiving rolled around, and I cooked my first turkey. So I thought, hey, if I can handle a turkey, a chicken should be a piece of cake, right?

So this past Saturday rolled around, and we had no big plans. I thought it would be the perfect day to try roasting a chicken in the crockpot, so I did! It was so easy, and actually kind of fun. We ate a bit of the chicken for dinner, and then shredded the rest of the meat for use in these Chicken Ranch Enchiladas. We also saved the bones, and tossed them back in the crockpot to make broth. (I’ll blog about the broth the next time I make a whole chicken, but in the meantime, visit A Year of Slow Cooking.) All in all, it was very economical, and I will definitely do it again.


Roast Chicken
1 roasting chicken, about 3-4 lbs.
1 yellow onion, largely diced
4 tsp. salt
2 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. cayenne pepper (next time, I will use less, or omit completely)
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. thyme
1 1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
2 whole garlic cloves (optional)

Directions:
Combine all seasonings in a small bowl and stir to combine.

Remove giblets from inside of chicken. (I was a little concerned when these weren’t in a bag, but I didn’t let myself think about it and just dug right in.) Pat the chicken dry with a paper towel.

Place diced onions in the bottom of the crockpot. Lay chicken on top. Sprinkle seasonings over chicken and gently rub into the skin. I also added two whole garlic cloves inside the cavity. No liquids are necessary.

Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

5 Comments »

  1. Amy said

    Those chicken ranch enchiladas look amazing! I’ve added them to my list of “must tries”. Have you had them before?

    • crockpottuesdays said

      Yeah, I’ve made them twice in the past month, they are that good! The first time, I felt like I used too little ranch and sour cream, but then the second time, I think I used a little too much, haha. Maybe the third time will be the charm, because I will definitely be making them a third time! 🙂

  2. darnold23 said

    Those enchiladas look wonderful. My corned beef and cabbage are cooking away in the crock pot as I type. It smells soooooooo good! Enjoy your St. Patrick’s Day and come join me for Crock Pot Wednesday if you can.

  3. […] Adapted from Crockpot Tuesdays Published […]

  4. […] make over the weekend: Broc-a-mole Whole chicken and broth Pumpkin muffins GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

