Chicken Brunswick Stew

Source: Cook Like a Champion, who found it on Dinner and Dessert

I had this stew saved in my Google Reader for a long time, before I finally found a chance to put it on the meal plan. It looked delicious, and the combination of flavors seemed very interesting to me. When I first got home from work after I had this cooking in the crockpot all day, I was a little worried. The smell was not what I was expecting — it definitely wasn’t bad, just different. But after I took the first bite, I was really pleased. It tasted so good! And like nothing I have ever had before. I crumbled up some crackers in mine, and that made it even better. Give it a try!

You will need a large crockpot for this. I used my 6 quart, and I have never seen it so full! It was at least 85% full. So needless to say, this stew makes a lot — about 8 servings. We ate a lot for leftovers the rest of the week, but we have two portions in the freezer for an easy dinner one night!

Chicken Brunswick Stew
2 large onions, chopped (this seems like alot, but it really isn’t)
3 chicken breasts
2 cans cream-style corn
1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 12 ounce bottle chili sauce
1 can chicken broth
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup butter, cut up
2 tbsp. vinegar
2 tsp. dry mustard
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. pepper sauce (I omitted)
1 tbsp. sugar

Directions:

Place onions in the bottom of the crockpot. Lay chicken breasts on top. Add the rest of the ingredients, and carefully stir to combine (without disturbing the chicken and onions). Cook on low for 8 hours. Remove chicken from crock and shred. Place chicken back in the stew, stir to combine, and enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Chicken brunswick stew with cornbread muffins Monday: Alfredo tomato chicken Tuesday: Out Wednesday: pizza Thursday: […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

