Cranberry sauce

Believe it or not, this is the only Thanksgiving dish I cooked in the crockpot this year. You could do mashed potatoes, stuffing, and even turkey in your crockpot, but seeing as how this is my first time making a Thanksgiving dinner, I wanted to go the more traditional route. 

I got this recipe from the Crockpot Lady. I made it the day before Thanksgiving, and it was so easy to just toss in the crockpot and forget about while I was busy preparing for all our guests the next day!

This recipe was a huge hit. My mom said it was the dish that she was most impressed with! It’s so easy, I definitely recommend it for your holiday celebration.


Ingredients:

12 oz. cranberries, fresh or frozen
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:
Rinse cranberries and place in your crockpot. Add the water and orange juice. Add the sugars and cinnamon, and stir to combine.

Cover and cook on high, stirring every hour or so. After about 2 or 2.5 hours, your cranberries will be soft enough to smoosh against the side of the crockpot with the back of a spoon.

Smoosh all the cranberries and stir well. At this point, continue cooking, uncovered, for about 30 to 45 minutes.

Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving, in order to get the right consistency.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments »

  1. […] Turkey Stuffing Carrots Corn Mashed potatoes Cranberry sauce French bread […]

  2. Yvonne said

    I love this recipe! I am going shopping for last minute items tomorrow and I am getting the ingredients for this. Very yummy!
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Yvonne

  3. I love the addition of cinnamon.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

