Taco soup (take 2)

PA280921

This taco soup was this week’s recipe in the cooking club I’m in. As soon as I saw it, I realized how similar it was to the other taco soup recipe I’ve made a few times, but I figured the changes were significant enough to go ahead and try this version. I’m glad I did! Because there were fewer canned items in this soup, it tasted much meatier, which Rick liked, and the taco seasoning was more prevalent. We also both liked the addition of the black beans. I’m not sure which recipe is my favorite, but this version is definitely a keeper!

PA270919
Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef
2 cans corn, undrained (I used 3 cups frozen corn, with 2/3 cup water)
1 can black beans, undrained
1 can great northern beans, undrained
1 can kidney beans, undrained
1 packet taco seasoning (or 1/4 cup)
1 packet ranch dressing mix

Directions:
Brown beef, drain fat if necessary. Combine all ingredients in the crockpot, and stir to combine. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Serve with sour cream, cheese or tortilla chips if desired. Enjoy!

Total cost of meal: $7.20. Serves 5.

Shared at Eat at Home Cooks.

8 Comments »

  1. ButterYum said

    Mmmm… sounds delish! Love that it’s made in the crockpot!!

    🙂
    ButterYum

  2. Anita said

    Sounds yummy. Similar to the Taco Soup recipe I use, but there are some differances, so going to give it a try.

  3. Mary said

    It looks delicious. I think taco soup is one of those things we continually try to improve upon. I know I’ve tried at least 10 versions and will give this one a try as well. Have a great Foodie Friday.

  4. Bobbie said

    I LOVE taco soup. It is my favorite! I made extra batches and keep them in then portion and put in freezer too!!

  5. Taco soup is one of my favorites. THANKS!!! for the GREAT!!! recipe.
    Geri

  6. […] Wednesday: Taco soup […]

  7. […] Saturday: Pizza Night Sunday: Turkey Sloppy Joes w/ chips Monday: Mac and cheese with salad Tuesday: Leftover sloppy joes Wednesday: Cheesy Chicken and Ranch Casserole Thursday: Bean and cheese enchiladas Friday: Taco Soup […]

  8. […] Taco Soup Sunday: Ground Chicken Tacos Monday: something from the freezer Tuesday: Salsa Ranch Chicken Taco […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

