Zesty chicken bbq

P8150424

I found this recipe on allrecipes.com. It caught my attention because it seemed easy to throw together, but also seemed like it would have a very interesting taste. All of the reviews said they were a little hesitant about mixing Italian dressing with bbq sauce (and so was I) but they all said it turned out great. I have to agree!

The first night, we shredded the chicken and put it on sandwich buns. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture. I know, I know … But with leftovers the next night, we made this bbq chicken pizza. It was delicious both ways!

P8130423
Ingredients:

6 chicken breast halves
12 ounce bottle bbq sauce
1/2 cup Italian salad dessing
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

Directions:
Place chicken breasts in crockpot. I sprinkled them with garlic powder, but that obviously is optional. In a bowl, mix bbq sauce, Italian dressing, brown sugar, and Worcestershire sauce until combined. Pour over chicken.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4.

10 Comments »

  1. Carrie said

    Wow, that sounds different, but great.

  2. Karen said

    I am going to make this tonight for dinner! It sounds good. Would you be willing to do a guest post for me sometime in the next month? I love your blog and would like to feature it on my blog. Let me know what you think!
    Karen
    karenbellessapetersen@gmail.com

  3. Joelen said

    I hope to try this soon – I love easy recipes!

  4. […] Shredded BBQ Chicken […]

  5. […] Sunday: Spinach stuffed shells Monday: Chicken pot pie Tuesday:  Tater tot casserole Wednesday: Zesty chicken bbq sandwiches and baked potato Thursday:  Leftovers Friday: Bbq chicken […]

  6. […] of BBQ pulled pork sandwiches, so I started looking for a new BBQ chicken recipe. I had made this Zesty Chicken BBQ a few times, and while it was really, really good, I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I found […]

  7. […] Shredded BBQ Chicken Sandwiches […]

  8. […] have made shredded BBQ chicken in the crockpot using two other recipes (Island BBQ Chicken and Zesty Chicken BBQ) and this recipe at least ties for first place. (Honestly, it’s been so long since I made the […]

  9. […] Spinach baked gnocchi  Monday: Zesty chicken BBQ sandwiches Tuesday: Turkey sloppy joes Wednesday: Chicken pasta primavera Like this:LikeBe the […]

  10. […] D: meatball subs Monday: Gnocchi with tomato basil cream sauce Tuesday: French dip subs Wednesday: Zesty BBQ chicken sandwiches Thursday: out Friday: leftovers LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

