Raspberry chicken

P7210414

I found this recipe when I was researching freezable meals. It hasn’t been a problem yet, but I’m sure there will be times when I don’t feel like cooking or we’ll need to throw something together as fast as possible, so it would be nice to have some frozen meals already prepared and ready to toss in the oven (or crockpot). I actually didn’t freeze this meal ahead of time — I had some raspberry jam to use up, and I was eager to give it a try!

The flavor of this dish was really good. However, I used a 6 qt. crockpot and cooked it on low for 8 hours, and the chicken got dried out. It was good, but I suggest shortening the cook time to 6 hours tops.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds chicken pieces (I used 2 1/2 chicken breasts)
3/4 cup raspberry jam
3/4 cup ketchup
1/8 cup white vinegar
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. Worcestershire  sauce
1/8 tsp. salt

Directions:
Place chicken in crockpot. Combine all ingredients and pour mixture over chicken. Cook on low for 6 hours. We served ours with a spinach salad, and it was great!

To make ahead:
Place all ingredients into a 1-gallon freezer bag. Lay flat in freezer. To thaw cook: Take the bag out of the freezer the night before, making sure the freezer bag is completely sealed. Place the bag on a shelf furthest from the freezer. Dump the bag in the crockpot in the morning, and you’re good to go!

2 Comments »

  1. Audrey said

    This sounds yummy. I always seem to forget the photos. I actually took two photos of tonight’s dinner….finally LOL.

  2. Joelen said

    This and your recent recipes all look wonderful! IWhat a great and summery dish I’ll have to try soon. I’ve been on a slight commenting hiatus with my busy schedule lately… but it’s great to catch up and see what’s cooking in your kitchen!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

