Southwest beef burritos

P7150412

I found this recipe in a Taste of Home magazine that my mom bought for me. Recently, I’ve been struggling to find new crockpot recipes that sound good to me, but I figured I couldn’t go wrong with this one! I’m so glad we tried it. It was different than what we’re used to, but very tasty! And it was just as good, if not better, on the second day with leftovers.

The only complaint I have about this recipe is that there is a decent amount of work to do after the cooking time is up. It’s not one of those crockpot meals where you can come home from work and serve immediately.

P7140410
Ingredients:

2 lb. boneless beef chuck roast
1/2 cup water
4 large tomatoes, peeled and chopped (I used a 28 oz. can diced tomatoes)
1 large green pepper, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 bay leaf
2 tbsp. canola oil
3/4 cup ketchup
1/2 cup pickled jalapeno slices
1 tbsp. juice from the jalapeno slices
1 tbsp. vinegar
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. garlic salt

Directions:
1. Place roast and water in crockpot. Cook on low for 8-9 hours. Remove meat. When cool enough to ahndle, shred meat. Skim fat from cooking liquid, setting aside 1/2 cup.

2. In a large skillet, cook tomatoes, green pepper, onion, garlic and bay leaf in canola oil for 18-22 minutes, or until liquid is reduced to 2 tbsp. (Ours took a little longer than 22 minutes, and it still had some extra liquid. I would recommend double-checking that most of the liquid has cooked out before moving on to the next step.)

3. Stir in the ketchup, jalapeno slices and juice, vinegar, salt, garlic salt and reserved cooking liquid. Bring to a boil. Stir in shredded beef; heat through. Discard bay leaf and serve on soft tortilla shells. Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. Molly Jean said

    oooh I am going to bookmark this one!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

