Applesauce chicken

p4160348

When we were cleaning out the fridge, I found some applesauce that I had forgotten I had. I remembered a recipe that I found on A Year of Crockpotting for applesauce chicken, so I decided it would be the perfect time to try it! Rick and I both really liked it. The cinnamon gave it a nice flavor, although if I made it again, I’d probably add a bit more.

p4150346
Ingredients:

4 chicken breast halves
1 1/2 cups applesauce
1 T minced onion
1 T apple cider vinegar (I used regular vinegar)
1/4 tsp cinnamon (I would suggest adding more if you want the sweetness to be added)
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, optional (Rick added some to his portion, and said he preferred it that way. I’m not a fan of overly spicy things, so I left them out of mine.)

Directions:
Place chicken breasts in crockpot. In a bowl, mix the applesauce, vinegar, garlic and spices. Pour over chicken.

Cook on low for 5-7 hours or on high for 3-4. We served ours with white rice.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Tuesday: Sloppy Joe pizza Wednesday: Fettucini with Basil, Ricotta, and Tomatoes Thursday: Applesauce chicken Friday: Basil Tomato Mozzarella burgers w/homemade […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

