Lentil Rice Soup = fail

p3100328

My first failure. And it was a big one.

Would you try to feed this to your husband, kids, or yourself, for that matter? Didn’t think so. And trust me, it tasted about as good as it looks.

Being that the name of the recipe I found on fatfreevegan.com was Lentil Rice Soup, I assumed, oddly enough, that the meal would be a soup. So I was very surprised when I came home to this. I followed the recipe exactly, and am completely baffled as to what could have gone wrong. Maybe this would actually be appetizing to some people?

The fact that Rick called me on the drive home asking about the meal should have been my first clue. The fact that the first words out of my mouth when I got home were “What’s that smell?” should have been my second clue.

We did try to eat it, though. I think I had two bites. It wasn’t worth it. The whole 10-12 servings went in the trash, and we had a frozen pizza for dinner instead.

I was excited about this meal, too. I read in a magazine awhile ago that lentils are good for targeting belly fat, and ever since then I’ve been intrigued by them. I had never had lentils before, and didn’t really know what they were, but my belly is my problem area, so if there is some food that could help with it, then I am all for it! I’m still going to give lentils another shot, but definitely with a different recipe.

Here’s the recipe, just in case you want to try it for yourself. 

Ingredients:
2 cups dry lentils
2 cups uncooked brown rice
1 cup chopped carrots
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/2 onion, chopped
1 can vegetable broth
7 cups water
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
salt to taste
1 cup fresh mushrooms

Directions:
Combine all ingredients EXCEPT mushrooms in crockpot. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Stir in mushrooms 1 hour before serving.

1 Comment »

  1. Ms. Green said

    Oh no! I tried a crockpot recipe like that once. I didn’t want to throw it out, but sometimes you just have no choice if no one is going to eat it.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

