Crab dip

p3070324

My mom came up to visit this weekend for a belated birthday celebration. I wanted to demonstrate my newly-acquired cooking skills for her, so I prepared a 3-course meal (which was mostly a success), including this crab dip as an appetizer that we snacked on throughout the afternoon. I found the original recipe from A Year of Crockpotting. 

I halved the following recipe. There were 3 of us snacking on this, and we still had some leftover.

p3070322
Ingredients:
1 lb. crab meat (I used imitation)
3 8oz. packages cream cheese
1/2 cup salsa or hot sauce (I used salsa)
1 can diced tomatoes and green chiles
1/2 cup milk 

Directions:
Cube cream cheese and place in crockpot. Turn it on to start melting. Add the salsa (or hot sauce), tomatoes and milk, and stir to combine. Add the crab last, and gently stir.

Cook on low for 2-3 hours, stirring every 20 or 30 minutes. I served ours with Ritz crackers and potato chips (but the crackers were better!)

2 Comments »

  1. […] Crab dip Grape jelly […]

  2. […] Lasagna with garlic bread, crab dip for an appetizer, and Diet Coke Cake for […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

