Salsa Chicken and Black Bean Soup

p3030321

Modified from A Year of Crockpotting

I am now in a cooking club on one of the boards I frequent, and this was actually someone else’s choice. (In case you’re wondering, I did not pick a crockpot recipe for my choice, haha.) This was a recipe that I had glanced over a few times on A Year of Crockpotting, but I always skipped over it. I’m not a huge fan of black beans, and while I thought that this could be good, I always seemed to find other recipes that I’d rather make. But, I’m still glad that someone picked this recipe so that I would be “forced” to try it.

p30203191
Ingredients:

1 lb. chicken breasts
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
4 cups chicken broth
1 can refried beans
1 can corn, drained
16 oz. salsa
1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 cup sour cream (to stir in at the end)

Directions:
Place the black beans at the bottom of your crockpot, and lay the chicken breasts on top. Add the broth and salsa, and pour in the corn and refried beans. Stir as best you can, but don’t disturb the beans. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Shred the chicken with a fork or wooden spoon, and then stir in the sour cream. Top with shredded cheese if you want, and enjoy!

2 Comments »

  1. […] Hamburger pie Tuesday: Salsa chicken and black bean soup Wednesday: Upside down pizza  Thursday: Turkey burgers w/homemade fries Friday: Seafood lasagna […]

  2. […] Sausage loaf Monday: Greek pizza Tuesday: Salsa chicken and black bean soup Wednesday: Taco night Thursday: Papa John’s pizza night Friday: Fondue night: Brie […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

