Salsa Chicken

p2130306

There are tons of recipes for salsa chicken out there, and after looking through a lot of them, this is the one that sounded the best to me. Other recipes include black beans, or salsa only; but in my opinion, this one hits the spot!

p2120303
Ingredients:

3-4 chicken breasts
1 packet taco seasoning
1 cup salsa
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:
Place the chicken breasts in your crockpot. Sprinkle the taco seasoning over all of them. Mix the salsa with the cream of mushroom soup, and spread the mixture on top of the chicken. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. At the end of the cook time, we shredded the chicken with a fork and stirred in the sour cream. We made tacos out of it and ate it in a soft tortilla shell!

11 Comments »

  1. […] Sunday: Meatball subs Monday: Creamy Rigatoni  Tuesday: Barbecue Beef and Bean sandwiches w/mashed potatoes Wednesday: Sausage Cheese Soup Thursday: Chicken sandwiches w/mashed potatoes Friday: Salsa Chicken […]

  2. […] Salsa Chicken Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Monthly Menu Plan: […]

  3. […] 10, 2010 at 10:19 am · Filed under Menus ·Tagged Meal planning Saturday: Salsa chicken Sunday: Leftovers Monday: Skyline chili pizza Tuesday: Wraps with chicken noodle soup Wednesday: […]

  4. […] sweet salsa chicken recipe is the first. It reminded me a lot of the salsa chicken I’ve made a few times, which, once you think about it, makes sense, as the ingredient list […]

  5. Allison said

    I just tried this one (based on the link from your Sweet salsa chicken) and we really liked it! I was skeptical about the cream of mushroom soup, but it was really good! I just need to get a smaller crockpot with a timer, though, as this only cooked for a little over 4 hours in my big crockpot (not sure how big, though!). Just glad I was home with it. Yum, though–we’ll be making this again!

    • crockpottuesdays said

      Glad you liked it! I usually make this recipe in my 3.5 quart crockpot. If you don’t want to spend money on a smaller one, you can insert a smaller, oven-safe dish with a lid inside a larger crockpot. Here’s a blog post that goes into detail about it … I’ve tried it once inside my 6 quart crockpot (before I bought the smaller one) and it worked well!

      http://carascravings.blogspot.com/2008/10/conquering-crock-pot.html

  6. […] dogs  D: Beef and black bean taco bake Monday: Italian Sausage Stromboli Tuesday: out Wednesday: Salsa chicken Thursday: Gnocchi with tomato basil cream sauce Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  7. […] Cheese Chicken, and I immediately new what I would be making. This recipe reminded me a lot of Salsa Chicken. Not exactly, of course, because this recipe replaces the cream of chicken soup with sour cream, […]

  8. Jamie said

    How do you use this as a freezer meal? (what are the steps to freezing it?) do I cool the chicken before I freeze it?

    • Tricia said

      Hi Jamie. If I were to freeze this, I would let the chicken cool for a bit first. It doesn’t have to be completely down to room temperature, but definitely make sure it isn’t steaming. Then, I would portion it out into quart-sized freezer bags. (I figure that about a cup and a half of the shredded chicken mixture would be good for two servings, if they are being eaten as taco filling.) Then, seal the bag, pressing out as much air as you can, and lay flat in your freezer. Once it’s frozen you can stuff the bag into the nooks and crannies of your freezer if you need to. On the day you want to use the frozen meal, move it to the fridge in the morning and lay flat to thaw. Then, heat up in a small pan on the stovetop or the microwave and serve however you want.

      Hope that helps!

  9. […] immediately went to my go-to recipe for Salsa Chicken, but decided I wanted something different this time around. Stephanie Cooks recommended this […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

