40 clove garlic chicken

P9150727

Source: Cuisinart

The new crockpot I treated myself to a few weeks ago came with a cookbook. Rick and I were looking through it one day, and as soon as he saw this recipe, he got excited! If you can’t tell already, we both LOVE garlic. I had seen a similar recipe before and had planned to make it sometime, but just never got around to it. I am sorry I waited so long! This was really good. It had a strong garlic flavor, but not too strong at all. Give it a try!

P9140723
Ingredients:

2 lbs. skinless, bone-in chicken thighs (I used breasts)
1 tsp. herbes de Provence
1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
3/4 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tbsp. lemon juice
3 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
40 cloves garlic, peeled (about 3 heads)
1/2 celery rib, sliced
1/2 cup onion, sliced
1/4 cup white wine
3 tbsp. chicken broth

Directions:
In a large bowl, combine chicken, herbes de Provence, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, lemon juice and olive oil. Lightly coat the stoneware of your crockpot with cooking spray (I used the Reynolds liner bags, and it was fine without cooking spray). Place the chicken in the crockpot, and layer celery, onions and garlic on top.  Pour in wine and chicken broth.

Cook on low for 8 hours.

5 Comments »

  1. Ashley said

    I have seen so many people do this and seeing yours just really makes me want to try it now!! Thanks for posting it!

  2. Nicole said

    This sounds delicious! I’ve been stalking your blog for a few weeks and I just wanted to say thanks! I had a baby two months ago and recently went back to work. My slow cooker is such a great resource. I have quite a few slow cooker cookbooks, but the recipes you share here are the only ones that haven’t disappointed! Chicken tacos are our favorite so far. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  3. crockpottuesdays said

    Nicole, I’m glad you are enjoying my blog! It makes me feel good to read comments like yours. :) I’m glad I am able to help you out with some yummy recipes!

  4. Joelen said

    I just made a similar recipe in a dutch oven and loved it so I plan on trying it in the crockpot soon!

  5. [...] can make baked potatoes in the crockpot! This really came in handy for me the other day when we had 40 clove garlic chicken for dinner. I needed a side dish, but didn’t feel like taking 20 or more minutes to prepare [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

