French Dip sandwiches

P5270383

This was another one of my attempts to branch out and try something different. I hadn’t had a French Dip in a very long time, but I remember liking them a lot! I’m glad I gave this recipe a try. The meat was really juicy, and honestly, I think it was better on day 2!

P5260382
Ingredients:

3-4 lb. rump roast
1 can beef broth 
1 can condensed French onion soup
12 oz. bottle dark beer (we used Guinness) 

Directions:
Trim excess fat from rump roast and place in crockpot. Add beef broth, onion soup and beer. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Serve on toasted hoagy buns with a side of juice for dipping!

5 Comments »

  1. [...] Meal planning Sunday: Mexican casserole Monday: Spaghetti w/Tricia’s tomato sauce Tuesday: French Dip w/pasta side Wednesday: Leftover French Dip Thursday: Meatball subs Friday: Chili Dog [...]

  2. thecookingnurse said

    I think it looks good, how was the taste of the beer? I’m always leery of adding beer! Once I made a chili recipe with beer and had to throw the whole batch out….it was that bad! :)

  3. crockpottuesdays said

    I thought the beer added a nice flavor to it, but not overpowering at all. And, as it turns out, I do NOT like the taste of Guinness to drink, but it tasted great in this dish. So I wouldn’t be afraid to use it!

  4. Ellie said

    Oh my gosh my hubby would LOVE this – and I love to cook with beer – it adds such great flavor!

  5. [...] is pasta! But this week it was different for some reason, so I added it to our menu. I have made French dip sandwiches in the crockpot before, but wanted to try a new recipe this time around (mainly because I [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

